Vallée Brebidoux

Vallée Brebidoux

Val de Bagnes

Vallée Brebidoux is made from 100% organic alpine sheep’s milk and matures in the cellars of La Fromathèque. Shortly before it is delivered to the customers, the cheeses are brought to the Gourmino cellar in Langnau. The master cheesemakers and affineurs check the quality of the cheese one last time before it is delivered.

Yan Sutterlin

born to be a cheesemaker

“At the age of 23 I was a car mechanic and owned my own garage. At the same time I looked after 20 alpine sheep on my grandfather’s land in Val de Bagnes.

I soon realized that working with the sheep filled me with joy. So I sold the workshop and expanded the flock of sheep by 70 more in 2012. I learned what it takes to process natural sheep’s milk into cheese and yoghurt and found a partner in Bertrand who has the flair to market my specialities.”

Bertrand Gabioud

“we want to promote the sale of regional specialities”

“My father owned a dairy and a very traditional “magasin” (shop). I, on the other hand, first studied architecture before I learned to make cheese at 28.

Together with my wife Valerie we worked and lived on the Alp du Tronc in Val de Bagnes for 7 years. We looked after a herd of 100 cows and made traditional Raclette du Valais AOP from their milk.

When we were expecting our first child, my father offered me to take over his cheese dairy and the shop. I took the opportunity to build what is now La Fromathèque.”

La Fromathèque

tradition meets innovation

Because of their common interest, Yan and Bertrand decided to cooperate.

With the construction of the modern La Fromathèque they combine tradition and innovation. They are realizing their common vision: to market the traditional products of Val de Bagnes with dignity and pride. La Fromathèque consists not only of a cheese dairy, but also a shop with regional specialities and a wine & coffee bar. The later is considered a meeting point for locals and tourists on their way to one of the many ski resorts.

Story

a home for 800 sheep

Val de Bagnes is a pure Swiss nature reserve, known for its glaciers and the Alps. The valley is also home to around 800 sheep, which in the summer months graze up to 2,800 metres above sea level. However, not all sheep are made for the sometimes very hard life in the Alps. For this reason, the two shepherds Jean-Luc and Emile chose the robust Basco-Béarnaise breed, which is unique in Switzerland.

Affinage

by hand in the cellar of La Fromathèque

Vallée Brebidoux is only produced during 8 months of the year due to the seasonal availability of the milk.

The cheeses are aged in La Fromathèque’s own cellar for three to eight months due to seasonal availability. Texture and sensory characteristics therefore change from mild and creamy to more aromatic and creamy.

PROFILE & CHARACTER

RAW INGREDIENTS:
fresh and raw alpine sheep milk (no silage)
FAT CONTENT:
45 % FDM
WEIGHT PER WHEEL:
approx. 3 kg (6 lb)
AGE:
3-9 months
TEXTURE:
creamy, soft
COLOR OF THE RIND:
light brown
CRYSTALS:
no
AWARDS:
SWISS CHEESE AWARD: 2016 1st place
WCCC: 2020 2nd place

Vallée Brebidoux

Vallée Brebidoux

Val de Bagnes

Vallée Brebidoux besteht zu 100% aus alpiner Bio Schafsmilch und reift in den Kellern der Fromathèque. Kurz bevor er an die Kundschaft geliefert wird, erfolgt der Transport der Käselaibe in den Gourmino Keller nach Langnau. Die Käsermeister und Affineure prüfen ein letztes Mal die Qualität des Käses bevor er ausgeliefert wird.

Yan Sutterlin

zum Käsen geboren

„Im Alter von 23 Jahren war ich Automechaniker und besaß meine eigene Werkstatt. Gleichzeitig kümmerte ich mich um 20 alpine Schafe auf dem Land meines Grossvaters im Val de Bagnes.

Mir wurde bald klar, dass mich die Arbeit mit den Schafen sehr erfüllt. Also verkaufte ich die Werkstatt und erweiterte die Schafherde im 2012 um 70 Schafe. Ich lernte was es braucht, naturbelassene Schafmilch zu Käse und Jogurt zu verarbeitet und fand mit Bertrand einen Partner, der das nötige Flair hat, meine Spezialitäten zu vermarkten.“

Bertrand Gabioud

„wir wollen den Verkauf regionaler Spezialitäten fördern“

„Mein Vater besass eine Chäsi und ein sehr traditionelles «magasin». Ich hingegen studierte zuerst Architektur, bevor ich mit 28 Jahren lernte zu käsen.

Zusammen mit meiner Frau Valerie arbeiteten und lebten wir während 7 Jahren auf der Alp du Tronc im Val de Bagnes. Wir kümmerten uns um eine Herde von 100 Kühen und machten aus deren Milch traditionelles Raclette du Valais AOP.

Als wir unser erstes Kind erwarteten, bot mir mein Vater an, seine Käserei und den Laden zu übernehmen. Ich nutzen die Chance und baute die heutige La Fromathèque.“

La Fromathèque

Tradition trifft auf Moderne

Aufgrund gemeinsamer Interesses, beschlossen Yan und Bertrand, zusammenzuarbeiten.

Mit dem Bau der modernen La Fromathèque verbinden sie Tradition und Moderne. Und sie verwirklichen ihre gemeinsame Vision: Die traditionellen Produkte des Val de Bagnes würdig und mit Stolz zu vermarkten. La Fromathèque besteht nicht nur aus einer Käserei, sondern auch aus einem Laden mit regionalen Spezialitäten und einer Wein & Kaffeebar. Letztere gilt als Treffpunkt für Einheimische und Touristen auf dem Weg in eine der vielen Skiorte.

Geschichte

ein Daheim für 800 Schafe

Val de Bagnes ist ein naturbelassenes Schweizer Naturreservat, bekannt für Gletscher und Alpen. Ausserdem beherbergt das Tal rund 800 Schafe, welche in den Sommermonaten bis auf 2’800 M.ü.M. hochkrackseln. Jedoch sind nicht alle Schafe für das teilweise sehr harte Leben in den Alpen gemacht.

Aus diesem Grund entschieden sich die beiden Schäfer Jean-Luc und Emile für die robuste Rasse Basco-Béarnaise, welche in der Schweiz einzigartig ist.

Affinage

von Hand affiniert im Keller der La Fromathèque

Vallée Brebidoux wird aufgrund der saisonalen Verfügbarkeit der Milch nur während 8 Monaten im Jahr produziert.

Die Affinage erfolgt im eigenen Keller der «La Fromathèque» und beträgt aufgrund der Saisonalität zwischen drei und acht Monaten. Textur wie Sensorik verändern sich daher von mild und cremig bis würzig und cremig.

Profil & Charakter

Zutaten
frische und rohe, alpine Bio-Schafsmilch. Die Schafe werden nicht silogefüttert.
Fettgehalt
45% FiT
Gewicht je Laib
ca. 3 kg
Alter
3-9 Monate
Textur
crèmig, weich
Farbe der Rinde
hellbraun
Kristalle
nein
Auszeichnungen
SWISS CHEESE AWARD: 2016 1. Rang
WCCC: 2020 2. Rang