Jùscht

JÙSCHT

simply a good one

a young cheese – made on the mountain, affinage in the mountain. Jùscht tastes fresh and richly milky – reminding of muesli milk and waffles.

Cheesemaker

Urs Leuenberger – back to the mountain dairy

“In the hilly Gantrisch area between Bern, Fribourg and Thun, my team and I make 6-7 wheels of Le Gruyère AOP and some “Jùscht” wheels every day. My dairy farmers are all within a distance of 1 kilometer from here so I can actually see the cows grazing from the cheese dairy.

Earlier I made Emmentaler AOP. When two dairies merged I had to give up my cheese dairy and worked for 12 years for an industrial milk processing company. Being back in a dairy makes me happy. Here I can meet my high standards of cheese quality and innovation.”

STORY

the good one

«Eifach en Jùschte» (simply a good on), that is how the employees of the mountain dairy Vorderfultigen have always described their speciality. The term is only used in the Seisler dialect and therefore in the German-speaking canton of Fribourg and means “the just”. For this reason a good person in this district is designated “Jùscht” or the term is used for a thing that is correct and good. What name could be better for our cheese specialty?

In spite of the young age, Jùscht is very rich, but fresh and milky in flavour. This is why the cheese reminds us of muesli milk.  A real “indulgence cheese”, which you won’t have enough of after the first bite.

Affinage

nothing is as perfect as nature

After being handcrafted in the Vorderfultigen mountain dairy, the cheeses are kept in the dairy and cared for for one month before they are moved to Gourmino’s mountain cave. Here the affineurs treat Jùscht wheels two times a week with salt water. The natural climate in the mountain (about 12 °C and 93% humidity) is perfect for the affinage of Jùscht. Denn schliesslich ist nichts so perfekt wie die Natur.

#AffinageInTheMountain – Nothing is as perfect as nature

PROFILE & CHARACTER

JÙSCHT:
“simply a good one”
made on the mountain, aged inside the mountain
TASTE:
young cheese, rich and balanced with notes of cereal milk and waffles
RAW INGREDIENTS:
fresh raw milk from happy cows left to graze naturally
FAT CONTENT:
55 % FDM
WEIGHT PER WHEEL:
approx. 6 kg (12 lb)
AGE:
3.5 months
TEXTURE:
supple, yielding to the palate, soft yet structured
CRYSTALS:
no
BRAND:
affinage & selection

Jùscht

JÙSCHT

der richtig Gute

in der Bergkäserei handwerklich hergestellt und im Berg affiniert.
Jùscht schmeckt frisch und reichhaltig milchig – erinnert an Müeslimilch und Waffeln.

Käser

Urs Leuenberger – zurück in der Bergkäserei

„Im hügeligen Gantrischgebiet zwischen Bern, Fribourg und Thun stelle ich mit meinem Team täglich 6–7 Laibe Le Gruyère AOP und einige Laibe Jùscht her. Meine Milchbauern liegen alle in einem Umkreis von einem Kilometer. So kann ich von der Chäsi aus allen Kühen beim Grasen zusehen.
Früher fabrizierte ich Emmentaler AOP. Aufgrund Zusammenlegung zweier Betriebe arbeitete ich danach während 12 Jahren bei einem industriellen Milchverarbeiter. Dass ich heute wieder zurück in einer Chäsi bin, macht mich glücklich. Denn hier kann ich meinen hohen Ansprüchen an die Käsequalität und –innovation gerecht werden.“

Geschichte

«eifach en Jùschte»

«Eifach en Jùschte», so haben die Mitarbeiter der Bergkäserei Vorderfultigen ihre Spezialität schon immer beschrieben. Der Begriff wird nur im Seisler-Dialekt und somit im deutschsprachigen Kanton Fribourg benutzt und bedeutet «der Gerechte». So wird ein guter Mensch als «Jùscht» bezeichnet oder wenn etwas eben richtig gut ist. Welcher Name könnte passender sein für diesen Käse.

Trotz des jungen Alters ist Jùscht richtig gehaltvoll, aber frisch und milchig im Geschmack. Deshalb erinnert uns der Käse an Müeslimilch.  Ein richtiger «Fresschäs» eben, von dem man nach dem ersten Bissen noch lange nicht genug hat.

Affinage

nichts ist so perfekt wie die Natur

Nach der Produktion in der Bergkäserei Vorderfultigen werden die Käse einen Monat lang in der Käserei angeschmiert und gelangen dann in die Bergstollen der Gourmino. Dort pflegen die Affineure die Jùscht Laibe zweimal wöchentlich mit Salzwasser. Das natürliche Bergklima (ca. 12 °C und 93% Luftfeuchtigkeit) eignet sich perfekt für die Entwicklung des Jùscht Chäs. Denn schliesslich ist nichts so perfekt wie die Natur.

#AffinageImBerg – nichts ist so perfekt wie die Natur

PROFIL & CHARAKTER

JÙSCHT:
„der richtig Gute“
in der Bergkäserei hergestellt, im Berg affiniert.
ZUTATEN
frische Rohmilch von glücklichen Kühen, welche auf saftigen Berg-Blumenwiesen grasen
FETTGEHALT
55% FiT
GEWICHT JE LAIB
ca. 6 kg
ALTER
3.5 Monate
TEXTUR
crèmig, elastisch
KRISTALLE
nein
MARKE
affinage & selection