Ur-Eiche ‘old oak’

Ur-Eiche

smells like pineapple, tastes like cheese

washed in oak and made by ladies.
Ur-Eiche tastes like toasted briche, dried pineapple and macademia nuts.

CHEESEMAKER

“we are just bursting with ideas”

“I am Christa Egli, master cheesemaker of the village dairy Girenbad. Our dairy is unconventional in many ways. Starting with the above average number of women cheesemakers on my team who pay great attention to detail and are bursting with ideas. Currently we have 8 dairy farmers and process 1.1 million kilograms of milk into about 14 cheese specialties. We pay a higher than average price for the milk – but only when it is exceptionally good. A fair milk price guarantees the farmers’ existence and also makes sure the dairy gets high-quality milk. Only when all participants in the production chain benefit, can we expect long term success.”

Click here to visit my dairy that we recently renovated

STORY

fresh raw milk from the previous evening milking and own kettle whey culture

Christa uses fresh raw milk from the previous evening milking, which is stored overnight in a copper kettle. In the morning it is skimmed by hand to adjust the fat content. Christa uses her own kettle whey cultures, which are cultivated daily for the following day, as well as calf rennet produced herself in the Once produced, the wheels are then washed with oak wood extracts.

An exclusive specialty like this really needs a finishing touch. So that is why the cheese bears the oak leaves and the name “Ur-Eiche” (loosely meaning ‘old oak’) stamped in relief into the rind. Passion for the product is shown by the attention given to the smallest detail by Christa Egli and her team.

Affinage

treated with oak wood extract

Once produced, the 6.5 kg wheels are regularly treated by hand with oak wood extract. When you taste the Ur-Eiche you experience a light barrique taste, which Christa likes to compare with a barrique wine. Since a cheese cannot be put into a wooden barrel, Christa puts the wood on top of the cheese.

After 10 months of affinage in the cheese cellar, the cheese is brought to Gourmino in Langnau. Before delivery to our customers, each cheese is checked again by our affineurs.

PROFILE & CHARACTER

Ur-Eiche:
“smells like pineapple, tastes like cheese”
washed in oak and made by ladies.
RAW INGREDIENTS:
fresh raw milk from happy cows left to graze naturally
FAT CONTENT:
50% FDM
WEIGHT PER WHEEL:
approx. 6 kg (12 lb)
AGE:
10 months
TEXTURE:
slightly crumbly
CRYSTALS:
yes
Brand:
selected & proved

Ur-Eiche

Ur-Eiche

riecht nach Ananas, schmeckt wie Käse

von innovativen Ladies hergestellt und mit Eichenholz-Extrakten gepflegt. Ur-Eiche schmeckt nach getrockneten Ananas, Macademia Nüssen und gerösteten Zwiebeln.

Käserinnen

„wir sprudeln nur so vor neuen Ideen“

„Ich bin Christa, Käsermeisterin der Bergkäserei Girenbad. Unser Betrieb funktioniert in vielen Bereichen unkonventionell. Angefangen bei den überdurchschnittlich vielen Käserinnen im Team, welche viel Liebe ins Detail stecken und vor Ideen nur so sprudeln. Aktuell haben wir 8 Milchbauern und verarbeiten 1.1 Mio. Kilogramm Milch zu rund 14 Käsespezialitäten. Wir zahlen einen überdurchschnittlich hohen Milchpreis – aber nur, wenn die Milch ausserordentlich gut ist. Wir sind der Meinung: Nur wenn sich für alle Beteiligten in der Produktionskette Vorteile bieten, können wir langfristig erfolgreich sein.“

Geschichte

frische Rohmilch vom Vorabend und eigene Fettsirten-Kulturen

Zur Herstellung der Ur-Eiche verwendet Christa frische Rohmilch vom Vorabend, welche über Nacht im Kupferkessi lagert und reifen kann. Am Morgen wird von Hand abgerahmt, um den Fettgehalt einzustellen. Christa verwendet hauseigene Fettsirten-Kulturen, die täglich für den Folgetag gezüchtet werden, sowie in der Chäsi hergestelltes Kälbermagenlab. Einmal produziert, werden die Laibe mit Eichenholz-Extrakten gewachen.

Eine solch exklusive Spezialität muss akzentuiert werden. In der Rinde sind als Relief der Name «Ur-Eiche» sowie Eichenblätter eingeprägt. Die Liebe steckt schliesslich in den Details auf die im Girenbad besonderen Wert gelegt wird.

Besuche unsere frisch renovierte Chäsi

Affinage

mit Eichenholz-Extrakt gepflegt

Einmal produziert, werden die rund 6.5 Kg schweren Laibe regelmäßig und von Hand mit Eichenholz-Extrakt gepflegt. Beim Genuss der Ur-Eiche spürt man einen leichten Barrique Geschmack, den Christa gerne mit einem Barrique Wein vergleicht. Weil ein Käse aber nicht ins Holzfass gesteckt werden kann, bringt Christa das Holz eben auf den Käse.

Erst nach 10-monatiger Affinage im Chäsi Keller gelangen die Käse zu Gourmino nach Langnau. Vor Auslieferung an unsere Kunden, wird jeder Käse nochmals durch unsere Affineure geprüft

Profil & Charakter

Ur-Eiche
riecht nach Ananas, schmeckt wie Käse
von innovativen Ladies hergestellt und mit Eichenholz-Extrakten gepflegt.
Zutaten
frische Rohmilch vom Vorabend
Fettgehalt
50% FiT
Gewicht je Laib
6.5 kg
Alter
8-10 Monate
Textur
leicht bröckelig
Kristalle
ja
Marke:
selected & proved