Schallenberg

Schallenberg

the everything bagel with cream cheese

Schallenberg is the only cream added mountain cheese, aged in the mountain for 10 months. It tastes like a fesh onion bagel with cream cheese.

Cheesemaker

Hansruedi Gasser – award-winning cheesemaker with passion

“In the idyllically located mountain dairy Oberei near the Schallenberg pass, I make the award-winning Emmental AOP and other delicious cheese specialities like Schallenberg.

Repeating the title of “best Emmentaler AOP producer” means a lot to me! But I would not claim this title completely for myself. The award speaks for the traditional lifestyle and the specific farming methods keeping cows healthy and natural. All this gives us the privilege of buying fresh milk directly from dairy farmers in our area, which is the best way to produce cheese of such high quality.”

Story

with a view towards Schallenberg mountain

When Hansruedi looks through the window of his dairy, he has a direct view to the Schallenberg Mountain. A winding road leads up to the pass at 1’167 meter above sea level where you have a spectacular view of the Bernese Oberland. Especially in summer the region is a paradise for bikers.

Hansruedi developed the idea of making a cheese specialty from the remaining milk from Emmentaler AOP production and calling it Schallenberg. This task is not easy – as a master cheesemaker he wanted to develop a cheese from unprocessed, raw mountain milk, which despite its high fat content is qualitatively so pure that it can be ripened for a long time. The long hours of testing were well worth it! Schallenberg convinces with an unbelievably fresh creaminess and a complex flavor profile due to the rich mountain milk and the affinage in the mountain bunkers in Reichenbach. Tasting it reminds us that Schallenberg tastes like a fresh onion bagel with cream cheese.

Affinage

affinage in the mountain for ten months

During the first twelve hours after production, the cheeses are turned every two hours. In the following 4 to 6 weeks Hansruedi cares for the young cheese wheels daily by hand with the salted water smear.

Once Schallenberg has developed a healthy and solid rind, it is aged in the mountain for 10 to 12. Deep inside the mountain, nature provides us with a perfect climate for ripening cheeses. It is here that Schallenberg develops its typical aromatic character under the constant supervision of our affineurs.

#AffinageInTheMountain – nothing is as perfect as nature

PROFILE & CHARACTER

SCHALLENBERG:
“the everything bagel with cream cheese”
the only Swiss mountain aged cheese enriched with cream.
RAW INGREDIENTS:
fresh raw milk from happy cows left to graze naturally
FAT CONTENT:
58 % FDM, cream level
WEIGHT PER WHEEL:
approx. 6 kg (12 lb)
AGE:
10 months
TEXTURE:
slightly creamy
CRYSTALS:
a few
TASTE:
fresh onion bagel with cream cheese
BRAND:
affinage & selection

Schallenberg

Schallenberg

Rally der Geschmacks-Sinne

Schallenberg ist der einzige Rahm-Bergkäse mit 10-monatiger Affinage im Berg. Er schmeckt reichhaltig-frisch, wie ein Bagel mit Frischkäse und gerösteten Zwiebeln.

Käser

Hansruedi Gasser – mehrfach prämierter Käser aus Leidenschaft

«In der idyllisch gelegenen Bergkäserei Oberei nahe dem Schallenberg-Pass, mache ich den preisgekrönten Emmentaler AOP und andere köstliche Käse-Spezialitäten wie Schallenberg.

Ich darf ganz ehrlich zugeben: Der mehrfache Titel «bester Emmentaler Hersteller» bedeutet mir sehr viel! Aber ganz allein würde ich diesen nicht beanspruchen: Er spricht für die gelebte Tradition und die spezifische, gesunde und natürliche Haltung der Kühe. Dies alles legitimiert den direkten Bezug frischer Milch von Bauern aus unserer Gegend, welche die besten Voraussetzungen bieten, um Käse von solcher Spitzenqualität herzustellen.»

Geschichte

immer mit Blick auf den Schallenberg

Wenn Hansruedi aus seinem Käsereifenster schaut, sieht er direkt den Schallenberg. Eine kurvige Strasse führt auf den 1’167 Meter hohen Pass mit spektakulärer Aussicht. Gerade im Sommer kommt die Region einem Paradies für Biker gleich.

Hansruedi hatte die Idee, aus der restlichen Milch der Emmentaler Produktion eine Käsespezialität herzustellen und diese Schallenberg zu nennen. Einfach machte er sich die Aufgabe nicht – als Meister der Käseproduktion wollte er einen Käse aus unveränderter, roher Bergmilch entwickeln, der trotz des hohen Fettgehaltes qualitativ so rein ist, dass man ihn lange affinieren kann. Das lange Tüfteln hat sich gelohnt! «Schallenberg» überzeugt mit einer unglaublich frischen Cremigkeit und einem breiten Geschmacksaroma – zurückzuführen auf die gehaltvolle Bergmilch und die Affinage im Berg. Gerne vergleichen wir «Schallenberg» deshalb mit einem Bagel, gefüllt mit Frischkäse und gerösteten Zwiebeln.

Affinage

in der Chäsi angeschmiert und im Berg affiniert

Während den ersten zwölf Stunden nach der Herstellung, werden die Käse-Laibe alle zwei Stunden gedreht. In den darauffolgenden vier bis sechs Wochen pflegt Hansruedi die Käselaibe täglich von Hand mit Salzwasser.

Sobald Schallenberg eine gesunde und stabile Rinde entwickelt hat, wird er anschliessend während 10 bis 12 Monate durch Gourmino im Berg affiniert. Die Natur schenkt uns tief im Innern des Berges ein perfektes Klima für die Feuchtreifung. Schallenberg entwickelt hier, unter ständiger Beobachtung der Affineure, seinen typisch aromatischen Charakter.

#AffinageImBerg – nichts ist so perfekt wie die Natur

Profil & Charakter

Schallenberg
„Rally der Geschmacks-Sinne“
der einzige Rahm-Bergkäse mit 10-monatiger Affinage im Berg.
Zutaten
frische Rohmilch von glücklichen Kühen, welche auf saftigen Berg-Blumenwiesen grasen. grünen Wiesen grasen.
Fettgehalt
55% FiT
Gewicht je Laib
ca. 6 kg
Alter
10 Monate
Textur
leicht crèmig
Kristalle
teilweise
Marke
affinage & selection