Hornbacher

Hornbacher

“the baked potato cheese”

made from rich mountain milk, handcrafted and aged by 2 Time World Cheese Champion Michael Spycher. Hornbacher tastes like a “baked potato” rind with notes of roasted nuts, caramel and onions.

CHEESEMAKER

Michael Spycher – 2 Time World Cheese Champion

“I learned the art of cheesemaking as a very young man. Through further training I became a master cheesemaker. However, I am convinced that there are many things that cannot be learned to become a world champion. Personally, I often rely on my gut feeling and experience. Both developed over the years and in exchange with older like-minded people who share my passion for cheese. I have been running the dairy together with my wife Monika since 2001. She sells our fresh milk, yoghurts and cheese every day in the dairy shop next door.”

STORY

previously only sold in the cheese shop

Michu, as Michael Spycher is called by his friends, has been producing the Hornbacher for 25 years. The cheese got its name from the small river that flows through right next to the dairy. Until 2014 Michu and his wife Monika sold the specialty only in their cheese shop. With growing popularity, the two decide to produce more of the Hornbacher to meet local and export market demands. Not only we think: a good decision!

Affinage

Affinage in Fritzenhaus by Michu Spycher

A normal cheese cellar is usually too small for the longer maturing of the cheese produced. So in Fritzenhaus, in 2013. Michu convinced his milk suppliers and at the same time owners of the dairy to build their own cellar. Hornbacher is therefore affined by Michu Spycher in his own cheese cellar from the beginning until shortly before delivery to our customers.
.

PROFILE & CHARACTER

Hornbacher:
“the baked potato cheese”
a rich raw milk mountain cheese handcrafted and aged by two times World Cheese Champ.
RAW INGREDIENTS:
fresh raw milk from happy cows left to graze naturally
FAT CONTENT:
50 % FDM
WEIGHT PER WHEEL:
approx. 6 kg (12 lb)
AGE:
12 months
TASTE:
reminiscent of a “baked potato” rind with notes of roasted nuts, umami, caramel and onions.
TEXTURE:
creamy, slightly crumbly
CRYSTALS:
yes
Brand:
affinage & selection

Hornbacher

Hornbacher

der „Baked Potato“ Käse

aus reichhaltiger Bergmilch, vom zweifachen Käseweltmeister hergestellt und affiniert. Er schmeckt wie eine «Baked Potato» Rinde – nach gerösteten Nüsse, Caramel und Zwiebeln.

Käser

Michael Spycher – zweifacher Weltmeister

«Gelernt habe ich das Käser-Handwerk bereits als sehr junger Mann. Durch Weiterbildungen wurde ich zum Käsermeister. Ich bin jedoch überzeugt, dass es bis zum Weltmeister vieles gibt, das sich nicht lernen lässt. Persönlich vertraue ich häufig auf mein Bauchgefühl und Erfahrung. Beides entwickelt sich über die Jahre und im Austausch mit älteren Gleichgesinnten, welche die Leidenschaft für Käse mit mir teilen. Ich betreibt die Käserei seit 2001 zusammen mit seiner Frau Monika. Sie verkauft in der Chäsi nebenan täglich unsere frische Milch, Jogurts und Käse.»

Geschichte

früher nur im Chäsiladen verkauft

Michu, wie Michael Spycher von Kollegen genannt wird, produziert den Hornbacher bereits seit 25 Jahren. Den Namen kriegte der Käse vom kleinen Fluss, welcher gleich neben der Käserei durchfliesst. Bis 2014 haben Michu und seine Frau Monika die Spezialität lediglich in ihrer Käserei verkauft. Mit wachsender Popularität entscheiden sich die beiden mehr vom Hornbacher zu produzieren. Nicht nur wir finden: eine gute Entscheidung!

Affinage

in Fritzenhaus von Michu Spycher affiniert

Ein normaler Chäsi-Keller ist für die längere Ausreifung der hergestellten Käse meist zu klein. Nicht so in Fritzenhaus. Im 2013 überzeugte Michu seine Milchlieferanten und gleichzeitigen Besitzer der Chäsi zum Bau eines eigenen Kellers. Hornbacher wird darum von Beginn weg bis kurz vor Auslieferung an unsere Kunden durch Michu Spycher im eigenen Chäsi-Keller affiniert.
.

Profil & Charakter

Hornbacher
„der Baked Potato Käse“
aus reichhaltiger Bergmilch, vom 2-fachen Weltmeister hergestellt und affiniert.
Zutaten
frische Rohmilch von glücklichen Kühen, welche auf saftigen Blumenwiesen grasen.
Fettgehalt
50% FiT
Gewicht je Laib
ca. 6 kg
Alter
zwölf Monate
Textur
crèmig, leicht bröckelig
Kristalle
ja
Marke
affinage & selection