Engelberg

Engelberg

Swiss Mountain Cheddar

the Gemini Star of the Cheese World –
a smear ripened cheddar made from Swiss mountain and alpine milk. Walter’s Engelberg Cheddar is balanced with a bright citrusy profile with umami and whiskey notes near the rind.

CHEESEMAKER

Walter Grob: “I want to step out of traditions and unfold my visions”

During my three-year apprenticeship with Gourmino cheese maker Christian Gerber, I was really indoctrinated with professional pride. I spent two summers in the Alps and nine months in a cheese factory on Vancouver Island. In between I graduated from 2 technical colleges and at the age of 24 was a master cheese maker (highest training as a cheesemaker).

My vision is to utilize the pristine mountain and alpine milk from the Engelberg region – and to produce a cheese that is more famous than the Titlis Mountain in the Uri Alps. I have the freedom to implement my innovative cheese making ideas now that I am the tenant and operator of the Engelberg cheese dairy since 2017.

STORY

traditional Swiss craft meets innovation

Walter Grob, does not only rely on the tried and true. Walter takes the Swiss cheese craft and natural elements as the foundation of his work and lifts them up with innovation.

In Engelberg, the largest ski mecca in Central Switzerland, it is rumored that Queen Victoria of England took her cheese provisions with her when she visited Engelberg Monastery on August 29, 1868. For Walter Grob, this history was incentive enough to think about producing a delicious cheddar in Switzerland. His vision is for the the Engelberg Cheddar to become more famous than the Titlis Mountain.

Differentiation

“I mix Swiss tradition with innovation”

“Engelberg” is made from rich mountain and alpine milk without colors or additives. Instead of maturing in bandaged cloth or plastic. It is turned and brushed by hand with a salt water smear and develops a healthy, rustic rind. Gourmino is convinced that the Queen of England would buy the cheddar cheese in Engelberg today. We are proud to have another real trouvaille with differentiation in the Gourmino range with the Engelberg Cheddar.

Affinage

Smear ripened

Engelberg Cheddar is matured for five months in the cellar of the Engelberger cheese dairy and cared for by hand with salt and water. This gives the Engelberg Cheddar a healthy and rustic rind.

Engelberg Cheddar is not ripened in plastic or cloth.

PROFILE & CHARACTER

Engelberg:
“Swiss Mountain Cheddar”
the first smear ripened cheddar recipe from Swiss mountain milk with full fat content – turned and washed by hand and aged on wooden boards
RAW INGREDIENTS:
fresh mountain and alpine raw milk from cows grazing on flower meadows and eating carotene.
FAT CONTENT:
45 % FDM
WEIGHT PER WHEEL:
approx. 5.5 kg (12 lb)
AGE:
5 months
TEXTURE:
slightly crumbly
COLOR OF THE RIND:
darkbrown
CRYSTALS:
yes
Brand:
selected & proved

Engelberg

Engelberg

Schweizer Berg-Cheddar

Aus Berg- und Alpenmilch mit vollem Fettgehalt & von Hand geschmiert. Unser Berg-Cheddar Engelberg ist ausbalanciert säuerlich-cremig und weist dezente Zitrus und Whiskey Noten auf.

Käser

Walter Grob: „Ich will aus Traditionen ausbrechen und meine Visionen entfalten“

Während meiner dreijährige Berufslehre beim Gourmino-Käser Christian Gerber wurde ich so richtig mit Berufsstolz geimpft. Ich verbrachte zwei Sommer auf der Alp, und neun Monate in einer Käserei auf Vancouver Island. Dazwischen schloss ich die Fachhochschulen 1 und 2 ab und war mit 24 Jahren Meisterkäser (höchste Ausbildung als Käser).

Meine Vision ist es, die gesamte Berg- und Alpmilch aus der Region Engelberg zu verarbeiten – und einen Käse herzustellen, der berühmter ist als der Titlis. Das schaffe ich nur, wenn ich unabhängig bin und meine Ideen umsetzen kann. Darum bin ich seit 2017 Betreiber der Käserei Engelberg.

GESCHICHTE

traditionelles Schweizer Handwerk, gespickt mit Natürlichkeit & Innovation

Walter Grob, wollte nicht nur auf das Bewährte setzen. Er ist jung, ambitioniert und erfindet gerne Neues.

Walter nimmt das Schweizer Käsehandwerk und die Natürlichkeit als Basis und spickt diese mit Innovation. In Engelberg, dem grössten Skimekka der Zentralschweiz, wird gemunkelt, dass die englische Königin Victoria bei ihrem Besuch im Kloster Engelberg am 29. August 1868 ihren Käse Proviant selber mitnahm. Für Walter Grob Ansporn genug, sich die Herstellung des besten Cheddar zum Ziel zu machen. Seine Vision: Der Engelberg Cheddar soll bekannter werden als der Titlis.

Differenzierung

«ich vermische Schweizer Tradition mit Innovation»

«Engelberg» wird aus reichhaltiger Berg- und Alpenmilch, natürlich ohne Farbstoffe, hergestellt. Statt in der Folie gereift, wird er mit Salz und Wasser von Hand gepflegt und erhält eine gesunde, rustikale Rinde.

Gourmino ist überzeugt, dass die englische Königin den Cheddar heute in Engelberg kaufen würde. Wir sind stolz, mit dem Engelberg Cheddar eine weitere echte Trouvaille mit Differenzierung im Gourmino-Sortiment führen zu können.

Affinage

von Hand geschmiert

Engelberg Cheddar wird während fünf Monaten im Keller der Engelberger Käserei gereift und mit Salz und Wasser von Hand gepflegt. Dadurch erhält der Engelberg Cheddar eine gesunde und rustikale Rinde.

Verglichen mit typischen Cheddar wird der Engelberg Cheddar nicht in der Folie gereift.

Profil & Charakter

Engelberg
Schweizer Berg-Cheddar
aus Bergmilch mit vollem Fettgehalt hergestellt und von Hand geschmiert.
Zutaten
frische Berg- und Alpenrohmilch von Kühen, die auf Blumenwiesen grasen und Karotin fressen.
Fettgehalt
45% FiT
Gewicht je Laib
ca. 5.5 kg
Alter
5 Monate
Textur
leicht bröcklig
Farbe der Rinde
dunkelbraun
Kristalle
ja
Marke
selected & proved