BLEU de Combremont

BLEU de Combremont

The eye catching, buttery and creamy “cinder block blue”

a balanced and expressive blue veined cheese
from our dairy Combremont in the canton of Vaud.

CHEESEMAKER

Michael Hanke – a creative visionary

In the idyllic village of Combremont-le-Petit in Western Switzerland, at 665 meters above sea level, Michael has realized his dream of running his own cheese dairy. With a lot of love and work, the cheese dairy, built around 1851 and in need of renovation, was brought back to life. The processes and procedures were built to his specifications, enabling him to bring forth his handcraft in the best possible way day by day.
With Michael, we have found a new master cheesemaker who fits both, the philosophy and the quality strategy of Gourmino and who identifes with it. Here, traditional craftsmanship is combined with modern and efficient production methods. The result is a constant high quality and consistent production of Le Gruyère AOP suitable for long ripening.
In addition to the traditional Gruyère, Michael also likes being creative and increasingly tries to invent new cheese specialties. He has absolutely succeeded in this with Bleu de Combremont.

STORY

The creamy Blue

Blue cheese is on everyone’s mind: Gorgonzola from northern Italy, Roquefort from southern France…just to name a few. The legends surrounding the origin of this cheese are varied, dating back to the turn of the 1st century. Switzerland has a great cheese tradition, but we are less known for outstanding blue cheeses. Our goal was to develop a signature blue cheese that stands out for its creaminess and expressive flavor profile. Together with Michael’s innovation, we are proud to have realized this one-of-a-kind blue cheese in a short time.

Affinage

Natural stone cellar ripening

Bleu de Combremont is made from cow’s milk that meets the requirements for Gruyère quality but is treated differently. Due to the blue mold cultures, the cheeses need to be taken directly from the salt brine to a natural stone cellar in the neighboring village, where they are ripened and maintained in compliance with strict climatic and microflora parameters. There the wonderful taste unfolds, and its one-of-a-kind appearance develops. Its special shape has already granted it the nickname “cinder block blue”.

Profile & Character

BLEU de Combremont
Is creamy-buttery and balanced, tastes slightly peppery with hints of mushrooms and a sweet umami aromatic finish.
RAW INGREDIENTS
Thermized cow’s milk
FAT CONTENT
65 % FDM (soft, ‘double’ cream blue cheese)
WEIGHT PER WHEEL
1.8 – 2.0 kg
AGE
aged for at least 6 weeks
TEXTURE
Soft and creamy, buttery, and spreadable
CRYSTALS
no
RIND
Anthracite grey marbled
BRAND
affinage & selection
Serving tip
Thanks to its creamy consistency, our bleu is spreadable and therefore tastes particularly good with a fruit bread or crackers. We recommend dried fruit or honey with a sweet white wine to pair with it.

BLEU de Combremont

BLEU de Combremont

Der wunderbar cremige „Brique“

mit unverkennbarem Blau-Aroma aus dem waadtländischen Combremont.

Käser

Michael Hanke – ein kreativer Visionär

Im idyllischen, Westschweizer Dorf Combremont-le-Petit auf 665 m ü. M. hat Michael seinen Traum von einer eigenen Käserei verwirklicht. Mit viel Liebe und Arbeit wurde die renovationsbedürftige Käserei von ca. 1851 zu neuem Leben erweckt. Die Prozesse und Abläufe konnten individuell auf seine Bedürfnisse gebaut werden, sodass er sein Handwerk Tag für Tag optimal einsetzen kann.
Mit Michael haben wir einen neuen Käser gefunden, der sowohl zur Philosophie wie auch zur Qualitätsstrategie von Gourmino passt und sich auch damit identifizieren kann. Hier sind traditionelle Handwerkskunst mit modernen und effizienten Produktionsprozessen kombiniert. Daraus resultiert eine hohe Qualität und konstant lagerfähiger Le Gruyère AOP.
Nebst dem traditionellen Gruyère lebt Michael auch gerne seine kreative Ader aus und versucht sich zunehmend mit neuen Käse-Spezialitäten. Dies ist ihm beim Bleu de Combremont auch ausgesprochen gut gelungen.

Geschichte

Der legendäre Blauschimmelkäse

Der Blauschimmelkäse ist in aller Munde: Gorgonzola aus dem nördlichen Italien, Roquefort aus dem südlichen Frankreich… um nur einige bekannte Namen zu nennen. Die Legenden um die Entstehung dieses Käses sind vielseitig und reichen bis zur 1. Jahrtausendwende zurück. Die Schweiz hat zwar eine grosse Käsetradition, wir sind jedoch weniger bekannt für herausragende Blauschimmelkäse, obschon es aus handwerklichen Betrieben auch einige bekannte Spezialitäten gibt. Unser Ziel war es, einen Blauschimmelkäse zu entwickeln, welcher durch seine Cremigkeit und seine Geschmacksintensität besticht. Dies ist uns zusammen mit der Kreativität von Michael gut gelungen, wie wir finden.

Affinage

Reifung im waadtländischen Natursteinkeller

Der Bleu de Combremont wird aus Kuhmilch hergestellt, die den Auflagen für die Gruyère-Qualität entspricht. Die Käse werden aufgrund der Blauschimmelkulturen direkt nach dem Salzbad in den Natursteinkeller im Nachbardorf gebracht und unter Beachtung von strengen Klima- und Hygieneparametern gereift und gepflegt. Dort entfaltet sich der wunderbare Geschmack und sein unverkennbares Äusseres entsteht. Seine spezielle Form hat ihm bereits den Übernahmen «der himmlisch-cremige «Brique» beschert.

Profil & Charakter

BLEU de Combremont
Ist ausgeglichen cremig-butterig, schmeckt leicht pfefferig mit einem Hauch von Pilzen und einem süsslich aromatischen Abgang.
ZUTATEN
Thermisierte Kuhmilch
FETTGEHALT
65% FiT (Doppelrahm-Weichkäse)
GEWICHT JE LAIB
1.8 – 2.0 kg
ALTER
Mindestens 6 Wochen gereift
TEXTUR
Weich und cremig, butterig schmelzend
KRISTALLE
Nein
RINDE
Anthrazit grau marmoriert
MARKE
Affinage & Selection
GENUSSTIPP
Dank seiner cremigen Konsistenz ist unser bleu streichbar und schmeckt deshalb besonders gut zu einem Früchtebrot oder Crackers. Dazu empfehlen wir getrocknete Früchte oder Honig und einen süsslichen Weisswein.