In the Emmental

With the purchase of the cheese warehouse in the Emmental, Gourmino began to age cheese over a longer period of time in the region of origin – the Emmental.

Affinage in the Emmental

Tradition

the last cheese warehouse in what once was the capital of cheesemaking

In 2005 the Gourmino cheesemakers decided to buy the traditional Jost warehouse. It is the last remaining cheese warehouse in the former capital of cheesemaking Langnau in the Emmental with a history of cheese dating back to the 1700’s.

This purchase meant security for us back then. Since then we could store cheese and were no longer forced to sell it young and directly from the dairies.

#AffinageInTheEmmental

Developing affinage competence

becoming an affinage specialist

Initially thought as a storage facility, we have developed our affinage expertise over the years. Since almost every Gourmino employee is also a master cheesemaker, the team enjoyed maturing the cheeses longer and individually. Only with increasing age and professional care and attention the individual character of a cheese starts to develop. This is a competence that distinguishes us and one that we are constantly developing.

Added value

logistic hub and affinage in the area of origin

In Langnau we have 4 basement floors with different climate zones. The dry storage area is used for the affinage of young Emmentaler, in the wet storage area we age smeared cheeses and matured Emmentaler specialties.

Only the best cheeses are used for long affinage and are therefore usually brought to our Reichenbach site. An exception is Gotthelf Emmentaler AOP. The only Slow Food-certified Emmentaler AOP is washed and turned by hand throughout its affinage process in its region of origin – Emmental.

Guided tours

an impression of the cheese world

Would you like to visit the cheese warehouse? Gaby Kaufmann from the Erlebnisverlag will gladly organize a guided tour for you. You will get an insight into the world of cheese and learn many exciting details about Emmentaler, Le Gruyère and its affinage.

For refreshment, there will be a fine cheese aperitif after the tour, where you can taste our cheese. Also games and fun are possible.

Further information at
www.erlebnisverlag.ch/kaesekeller or

Erlebnisverlag Gaby Kaufmann
info@erlebnisverlag.ch / 078 765 70 41

Im Emmental

Mit dem Kauf des Käselagers im Emmental begann Gourmino, Käse im Ursprungsgebiet des Emmentalers länger auszureifen.

Affinage im Emmental

Tradition

das letzte Käselager in der ehemaligen Käse-Hochburg

Im Jahr 2005 entschieden sich die Gourmino Käser zum Kauf des traditionsreichen Lagers Jost – des letzten überbleibende Käselagers in der ehemaligen Käse-Hochburg Langnau.

Dieser Kauf bedeutete für uns damals Sicherheit. Wir konnten von da an Käse lagern und waren nicht mehr gezwungen, diese jung und ab Käserei zu verkaufen.

#AffinageInTheEmmental

Entwicklung der Affinage-Kompetenz

der Weg zum Affinage-Spezialisten

In den Anfängen als Pufferlager gedacht, entwickelten wir mit den Jahren unsere Affinage Kompetenz. Da fast jeder Gourmino Mitarbeiter auch Käsermeister ist, fand das Team Gefallen daran, die Käse länger und individuell auszureifen. Denn erst mit zunehmendem Alter und fachmännischer Pflege entwickelt sich der individuelle Charakter eines Käses. Eine Kompetenz, die uns auszeichnet und die wir ständig weiterentwickeln.

Mehrwerte

Drehscheibe und Affinage im Ursprungsgebiet

In Langnau haben wir 4 Untergeschosse mit unterschiedlichen Klimazonen. Das Trockenlager dient zur Affinage von junge Emmentaler, im Feuchtlager affinieren wir geschmierte Käse und gereifte Emmentaler-Spezialitäten.

Nur die besten Käse eignen sich für die längere Affinage und diese erfolgt in den meisten Fällen am Standort Reichenbach. Eine Ausnahme ist der Gotthelf Emmentaler AOP. Der einzige Slow Food zertifizierte Emmentaler wird während seiner ganzen Reifezeit in seinem Ursprungsgebiet Emmental von Hand gepflegt.

Führungen

ein Einblick in die Käsewelt

Möchtest du das Käselager besichtigen? Gaby Kaufmann vom Erlebnisverlag organisiert für dich gerne eine Führung. Du erhälst einen Einblick in die Käsewelt und erfährst viele spannende Details über Emmentaler, Le Gruyère und deren Affinage.

Zur Stärkung gibt’s nach dem Rundgang einen feinen Käseapéro, bei dem unsere Käse degustiert werden können. Auch Spiel und Spass sind möglich.

Weitere Infos
unter www.erlebnisverlag.ch/kaesekeller oder

Erlebnis Verlag Gaby Kaufmann
info@erlebnisverlag.ch / 078 765 70 41